Surprises of the Week!

Well, maybe not surprises, I expect you anticipated having produce in your box (as opposed to, say, cute cuddly animals), but here’s the rundown on exactly what you got:

Okra! (Mmmm…)

Pac Choi

Salad Mix (Lettuce, Kale, Mustard, Amaranth, Tat Soi, and Beet Greens)

Spicy Braising Mix (Arugula, Kale, Brussel Greens, and Ruby Streaks)

Garlic

Either:  Beets, Turnips, Radishes, or Peppers

On Another Note:  It’s come to my attention that there’s a fairly large contingent of okra haters in the world.  Now, I’m a huge fan of okra any way you serve it (excepting possibly with ice cream), but I’m guessing that the slime factor my be a little too much for some, so I thought I’d share a method which a friend taught me several years ago:

Slime-Free Roasted Okra

Step 1:  Preheat the oven (400 degrees) and chop your okra into rounds: about an eighth to a quarter inch thick.

Step 2:  In a bowl, coat the okra with salt and the spices of your choice (I’m partial to cumin and turmeric, but chili powder is also super tasty)

Step 3:  Spread one layer deep on a cookie sheet and pop them in a the oven till you think they’re done.

Step 4:  Munch and enjoy!

Anyway, spend as much time in this glorious fall weather as you can this week and enjoy your veggies!!

Many blessings,

Caroline Sunshine

Leave a Reply

