What’s in the box? CSA 9/20/12

Hello CSAer’s,

Looks like this week’s box is full of wonderful early fall culinary treats.

  • Sweet Potato Greens
  • Delicious Salad Mix
  • Arugula
  • Both Green & Hot Peppers

HERBS

  • Basil
  • Garlic Chives

Your box will also include one of the following:

  • Field Peas
  • Okra
  • Eggplant
  • Green Tomatoes

I recently earned my certification in Culinary Technolog, so I’m always looking to experiment with and improve my gobal cooking skills.  While I was searching through Sweet Potato Green dishes, I saw this great looking recipe from Africa.  Sweet Potato Greens are highly nutritious, rich in antioxidants, proteins, and vitamin B. This green vegetable also contain some valuable minerals, including iron, calcium, and zinc.  It’s an all in one type meal, only needing rice as a side.  You can also add the hot peppers from the box, if you like.  Here is the website with the recipe, check it out.

http://www.african-recipes-secrets.com/potato-greens.html

Since this weeks box contains so many greens, I found a great looking salad dressing recipe which contains healthy fats and fresh herbs.  It’s easy to make and a lot better for you than “Thousand Island”.  Give it a try!

Olive Oil and Balsamic Dijon Salad Dressing

Two parts Extra Virgin Olive Oil 
One part Balsamic Vinegar 
A splash of lemon (I use fresh lemons or lemon juice if I don’t have fresh lemons on hand.) 
Greek Seasoning (to taste — I use about 1/4tsp to 1/2tsp I think – but I have never measured!) 
Oregano
Rosemary 
Dijon Mustard (about 1/2tsp to 1tsp — increase for more flavor and kick)

Add ingredients to a jar and shake! Serve immediately.

I hope you give these recipes a try.  It’s always good to try new dishes and experience other cultures cuisines.

d. tillett

 

 

Leave a Reply

